## REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING May 16, 2022

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on May 16, 2022 in the media center at the high school at 6:00PM. Board members present: Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Brittany Dokken, Molly Welch, Brenda Olson, and Greg Larson

Board Members Absent: None Student Representatives: Ellie Welch

Others Present: Brian Korf, Rudy Martinez, Emily Evenson, Cary Haugrud, Chris Hacker, Trevor Steeves, Kathryn

Anderson-Albright, Derrick Nelson, and Lou Hoglund

The meeting was called to order at 6:00PM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Chair, Jon Karger.

Greg Larson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried with all present members voting in favor.

## Acknowledgements

State Speech Participants: Karyme Camillo, Chris Hovden Teressa Schlieman - Prom Advisor

Post Prom Committee

Retirees

Jim Christenson - 29 years of service Karen Jongeward - 28 years of service

## Administrative reports

A. Building & Ground Supt. Mr. Trevor Steeves

B. Finance Director
C. Superintendent/HS Principal
D. Elem Principal / AD
Mr. Rudy Martinez
Mr. Brian Korf
Mr. Derrick Nelson

Brittany Dokken moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

- A. Approve board minutes April 18, 2022 Regular Meeting
- B. Financial claims April bills
- C. Treasurer's report
- D. Accept Donations

Viking Butikk - \$625 - Central Evangelical Lutheran Church

E. Personnel

Approve the hire of Laura Januszewski High School Principal / Technology Integrationist

Approve the hire of Dave Rund Elementary Teacher 1.0 FTE

Approve the hire of Lexy Dunbar High School Special Education Teacher 1.0 FTE

Approve the hire of Kelsey Lage High School Counselor 1.0 FTE

contingent upon official resignation of current High School Counselor

Approve the hire of Bridgette Holl Assistant Speech Coach Approve the hire of Daniel Garcia Full-time Custodian

Approve the hire of Summer Workers:

Summer Rec Coaches: Zayla Arrow, Zayli Arrow, Treyvon Benson, Torrey Hovland, Tori Huseby, Charlie Larson, Kenisha Madole, Kia Nelson, Gretta Nordgren, Sylvia Pesch, Willem Pesch, John Peter, Lance Roisum, Sebastian Rosiles, Channing Russman, Jason Satter, Brody Syverson,

Tristan Wald, Ellie Welch

Summer Custodial Staff: Kyle Haugrud, Todd Huseby, Connor Larson, Greta Tollefson

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson. Greg Larson abstained from voting due to having a son listed. All four remaining present members voted in favor; board member, Brenda Olson, had left the meeting.

Anne Peterson moved to approve Activity Fees for the 2022-23 school year. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Greg Larson moved to approve the 2022 Pelican Rapids High School Graduation List. The motion was seconded by Brittany Dokken and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Greg Larson made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Brittany Dokken and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Board Chair	Board Clerk